George Carlin: education and the owners of America

“It’s called the American Dream because you have to be asleep to believe it.”

A comedian who believes state education was set up to benefit the state and business as a means of social control and thought control. Teaching discipline and respect for authority. I’ve heard a number of educators talk of this, was a bit skeptical so I got a book on education policy (second hand from Oxfam). It was from the 80’s and I didn’t have to read to far to find that its true “the orientation of policy making is now towards the consumers of education – the parents and industrialists, the producer lobbies [teachers] are almost totally excluded” (1). Notice consumers of education are not children, children are the material to be worked on. For more on this I recommend John Taylor Gatto.

[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMqJvhmD5Yg]

(1) Politics and policy making in education, Stephen Ball (English system).

6 Responses to George Carlin: education and the owners of America

  1. […] famous and distinctly non-funny observations about “our” educational system (blogged very neatly here at On Education and eLearning.) I respect Carlin’s insights on culture and social issues because comedy is a way of telling […]

  2. Thomas says:

    Ive watched intensely as george carlin performs this skit about education in america and the dumbing down of america. Ive had the video on my web page but its gone now due to “copyright infringement!!!” I for one am not buying it!!! Who the hell is WMG and why was this skit really removed from the web!!! I’ll tell you its like the old addage ” BECAUSE THE TRUTH HURTS!!!” Is there any way to obtain a copy of this video legally or otherwise? As I have accsess to nearly all of george carlin’s clips and videos( all but this one) so if it were about infringement why are most any other of his works available?

  3. Aido says:

    {I’m|I’m also|I’m just|I am|I am also|I am glad for|I am just|I am only|I happen to be} {commenting to|writing to} {let|make} you {be aware of|know|understand} {of the|what a} {amazing|awesome|beneficial|brilliant|cool|excellent|exceptional|extrao…

    I precisely wanted to say thanks once again. I do not know what I could possibly have carried out in the absence of the type of strategies contributed by you concerning that situation. It previously was a very traumatic issue in my opinion, however , c…

  4. cloud host , cloud server , cloud vps , cloud computing, cloud hosting , joomla cloud hosting, wordpress cloud hosting , opencart cloud hosting , magento cloud hosting , vpn…

    […]George Carlin: education and the owners of America « On Education & eLearning[…]…

  5. Hey there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and in my opinion recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this site.

  6. I’m not optimistic the place you are receiving a person’s data, but beneficial issue. My partner and i has to invest a while studying considerably more or knowing a lot more. Many thanks for spectacular information I was looking for this information for my quest.

Leave a Reply

